Back to news

BC Road Builders & Heavy Construction Association Names 2018 Board of Directors


2018-01-03 – Burnaby, BC – The BC Road Builders and Heavy Construction Association is pleased to announce the election of its 2018 Board of Directors, including new Chair, Todd Strynadka of Terus Construction.

Mr. Strynadka is Technical Services Manager of Terus Construction. Terus Construction is an integrated road construction and materials group of companies and an industry leader in road construction, aggregate processing, ready mix concrete production, hot mix asphalt concrete manufacturing, construction of highways, airports, subdivisions, industrial projects and various road related infrastructure projects. While Mr. Strynadka has been with Terus Construction since 2004, he has been involved in the industry and some major projects such as the Edmonton LRT tunnel, Alaska Highway, NWT Highway projects, the Peace River Bridge and more than 30 airport construction projects over the last 35 years.

“We have many challenges that lay ahead this year, including working with a new provincial government. I am looking forward to working closely with our knowledgeable and talented board of directors to ensure this government and all stakeholders recognize the importance of investment in transportation infrastructure throughout the province,” said Mr. Strynadka. “Building and maintaining our roads, highways and bridges is essential in promoting economic growth, a sustainable environment and maintaining our province’s highly skilled workforce.”

The 2018 board of directors was named at the BC Road Builders’ Annual General Meeting held in Victoria on December 8, 2017. The 2018 board includes:

Chair – Todd Strynadka, Terus Construction
Past Chair – Steve Drummond, Capilano Highway Services
Vice Chair/Maintenance Director – Kevin Higgins, YRB Group of Companies
Secretary/Treasurer – Scott Griffin, Renaissance Group Chartered Accountants
Construction Chair – Ross Gilmour, Peter Kiewit Sons Construction Director – Paul Simpson, Jacob Bros. Construction
Construction Director – Glen Barker, NorLand Group Paving Director – Collin Blonarowitz, Emil Anderson Construction Maintenance Chair – Dan Beaulac, Nechako Group of Companies
Maintenance Director – Sandi Paulson, Argo Group of Companies
Service & Supply Chair – Nikki Keith, Wilson M. Beck Insurance Services
Municipal Relations Rep. – Stan Weismiller, Winvan Paving
Construction Safety Rep. – Joe Wrobel, JPW Road & Bridge

BC Road Builders and Heavy Construction Association was formed in 1966 and advocates for the development of a balanced, safe transportation system and highways infrastructure that sustains and promotes provincial economic growth. The association represents more than 250 firms involved in grading, asphalt and concrete manufacturing, paving, utility construction, road and bridge building/maintenance, blasting, as well as related goods and services suppliers.

BC Road Builders and Heavy Construction Association proudly works with its members to give back to the community having raised over $365,000 in the past 15 years for BC Children’s Hospital and awards its Betty Spalton Scholarships annually to individuals obtaining educations in fields associated with the road building and heavy construction industries.

For more information and/or for photos, please contact:
Parveen Parhar
Communications & Membership Manager
BC Road Builders & Heavy Construction Association
Tel: 604-436-0220 E-mail: [email protected]

  • NR-2018BoardAnnouncement-final Download